Font Size

Municipal Court

The City of Buffalo’s Municipal Judge is appointed by the Mayor and City Council.

The hours of the court are 8 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday.

Contact Information

Court Address:
144 N. Avant St
Buffalo, Texas 75831

Mailing Address:
P. O. Box 219
Buffalo, TX 75831

Telephone: 903-322-5347
Fax: 903-322-1001

Email
Judge Nora Garcia-Mata: judge@buffalotex.com
Clerk, Jessica Beaird: municipalcourt@buffalotex.com

Plea_By_Mail_Form

Reply Form

Required Public Notices from the Buffalo Municipal Court:
Appointment and Fee Report for May 2024

TDLR APPROVED DRIVERS SAFETY SEARCH:

https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/DESSearch/results/getparenttaught?IsFullCourseOnline=true

TDLR APPROVED DWI EDUCATION COURSE SEARCH:

https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/court-ordered/drug-and-alcohol/search/?type=DWIE

TDLR APPROVED DRUG OFFENSE EDUCATION SEARCH:

https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/court-ordered/drug-and-alcohol/search/?type=DOEP

TDLR APPROVED ALCOHOL EDUCATION FOR MINORS SEARCH:

https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/court-ordered/drug-and-alcohol/search/?type=AEPM

TDLR APPROVED RESPONSIBLE PET OWNER COURSE:

https://pawedu.com/

For additional information or course search please visit the TDLR website directly:

https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/


Drivers Safety Course:

In order to request a DSC, you will be required to do the following:

  • Money Order or Cashiers Check in the Amount of $144.00; or $169.00, if the offense occurred in a school zone;
  • Copy of the Citation;
  • Copy of your Texas Drivers License;
  • Proof of Financial Responsibility with you as a listed driver
  • Self Addressed stamped envelope
Once approved to take a DSC:

  • 90 days to complete a DSC (online or in person);
  • Request a copy of your Driving Record from DPS
https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager (3A)

*Failure To Complete A Driver’s Safety Course

If you fail to complete any one of the requirements by your due date, your case will be set for a show cause hearing. A letter will be mailed to the address on your citation. If you fail to appear at the hearing, a final judgment will be imposed. You may waive your hearing by appearing in person or by writing to the court to waive your show cause hearing and pay the remaining balance of the fine.

Not Eligible for Drivers Safety Course:

The following actions render you ineligible for a driver’s safety course:

  • 24 miles over the allowed speed limit
  • Currently taking or have taken the course within twelve (12) months prior to receiving your citation
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Reckless driving
  • Passing a school bus
  • Subtitle C Rules of Road offenses in work zone while workers are present
Deferred Disposition

Contact the Court

Affidavit_of_Compliance

Method of Payments (only for fines)

www.trafficpayment.com or 1-800-444-1187, Money Order, Cashiers Check or Debit/Credit cards in person. No cash accepted.

Payment Plans
Contact Court

Community Service/Time Served Application

Dismissals: Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility

A citation for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility may be dismissed at no charge if the defendant provides the court with proof of coverage for the date and time of the violation on the vehicle. The coverage must be verified with the insurance company before dismissal is granted.

Compliance Dismissals: Registration, Drivers License, & Inspection

https://www.tmcec.com/files/7814/3939/6436/Compliance_Dismissals.pdf